Learn more about the profile of new Environment Minister Saber Hossein



Saber Hossain was appointed last year as the prime minister’s special envoy on climate change.

Saber Hossain Chowdhury, a key figure in leading Bangladesh’s efforts in global climate change negotiations, has been appointed environment minister in the newly formed cabinet.

He has been a member of parliament for Dhaka 9 constituency since 2008.

Saber Hossain was appointed last year as the prime minister’s special envoy on climate change.

He first became a cabinet minister in 1999 as Deputy Minister in the Ministry of Shipping, and later in the Ministry of Local Government, Rural Development and Cooperatives.

Saber served as the 28th President of the Geneva-based Inter-Parliamentary Union from 2014 to 2017, making history as the first and only Bangladeshi to hold this position.

During his distinguished career, Saber Hossain distinguished himself in various roles and responsibilities in parliament, government, political parties and sports management.

He was the organizing secretary of Bangladesh Awami League in charge of Dhaka division from 2001 to 2008, during which he also served as political secretary to Awami League president and then opposition leader Sheikh Hasina.

He also served as the Chairman of the Bangladesh Cricket Board from 1996 to 2001. Bangladesh Cricket His team achieved International Cricket Council Test qualification during his tenure.

As a lawmaker, Saber initiated a proposal for a new article in the Bangladesh Constitution on protection and improvement of the environment and biodiversity (Article 18A) as one of the fundamental principles of national policy.

He graduated from the School of Oriental and African Studies at the University of London, obtained a joint honors degree in Economics and Politics from the University of Westminster, UK, and completed the academic stage for the Bar, earning a law degree. Masu.

He also served as Chairman of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on the Ministry of Environment, Forests and Climate Change and Member of the Parliamentary Committee on the Ministry of Planning in the 11th Parliament.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *